children / mourning / parents

A Mother’s Heart

I long to wake up on Mother’s Day to a call from my mother. But that phone call will never come because my mother died in a tragic car accident when I was 16. Ever since then, Mother’s Day has been difficult. Even though she has been gone 20 years now, I cry as I write this. I miss my mother dearly. I wish I could hear her voice. I wish I could call her up and tell her, “Mom, please forgive me for being such a rebellious teenager and for causing your heart so much grief.”

I miss not being able to tell her how my own teenagers have broken my heart. I miss not being able to share with her all the drama I’ve gone through with them this year. I would tell her that I know God is working in their lives, I trust God and have surrendered them into His hands. She would probably respond, “I can’t believe you have seven kids Lisa!” Lol.

But I can’t call her. I can’t tell her “I’m sorry” or ask for advice. I won’t hear her laughter. She’s gone forever. What I have now are memories of her and our times together. I have had to learn to forgive myself for taking her for granted and not appreciating her and the sacrifices she made for us.

If you still have your mother with you, I encourage you to thank God for her—whether she is a ‘good’ mom or not. Pray for her. No one is perfect, but she needs to know that even though she makes mistakes, you love her, forgive her, and are praying for her. If you haven’t forgiven her, then choose today to forgive her and be free from the burden of carrying unforgiveness in your heart.

When I find myself harboring unforgiveness, bitterness, and resentment, my God ever so lovingly reminds me:

Since God chose you to be the holy people he loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience. Make allowance for each others faults, and forgive anyone who offends you. Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others. (Colossians 3:12-13)

If you have been blessed with a loving, praying mom, who has taken care of you and given you unconditional love; show her that you appreciate her, not just on Mother’s Day, but every day. Tell her you love and appreciate her. Acknowledge her as a blessing from God to you. Don’t take your mom for granted. Our lives are like a vapor—we are here for a little while and then we’re gone. No one knows when our moms will be gone forever.

May God give you eyes to see your mom through eyes of love, mercy, and grace. Isn’t that something we all could use more of?

Here’s a special word to the mothers I most relate to this season; the mother who has a prodigal child: Don’t lose hope. Don’t give up praying. Don’t give into the temptation to speak words of defeat over your child’s situation. Our Lord is in the process of doing something in our children’s lives. He is not done yet. Trust Him. Keep loving your child. Beware of enabling them. Learn to set your boundaries and stick to them. Discipline is love. Even God disciplines us. Don’t try to take things into your own hands. Be still and know He is God, the one who can raise the dead and do the impossible in anyone’s life, including our children’s lives. Don’t lose hope! (Galatians 6:9)

Happy Mother’s Day 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Mother’s Heart

Thank you for sharing <3

